I’m writing this on the first morning of the Test between England and New Zealand at the Basin Reserve. The ground is as full as I’ve seen it for many years, Billy the Barmy Army trumpeter is in good form, and an intriguing Test is underway.

But for how many more years will we be able to enjoy Test cricket at the Basin? The Basin Reserve Trust has stated that the ground is under threat from the 9-metre-high, 380-metre long flyover the New Zealand Transport Agency (NZTA) wants to build right past the northern entrance to the ground. There are realistic alternatives to building a flyover, but with its distinctive mixture of 1960s transport thinking and blind arrogance, the NZTA plans to press ahead.

And we plan to stop them. Here’s how you can help:

Donate. The NZTA has lots of money. We need lots as well, for both publicity materials and potential legal action. Please help us out!

Tell the New Zealand Government to abandon the flyover project. New Zealand Governments often listen more to overseas visitors than to their own citizens – please email the Prime Minister and Minister of Tourism, John Key, and tell him that a flyover outside the Basin gates is a terrible idea.

Sign and share our online Save the Basin Reserve petition: http://www.avaaz.org/en/petition/Save_the_Basin/?cBRYbab

Tell Wellington City Councillors to continue their opposition to the proposed flyover. An important vote is coming up on 21 March. Please email these councillors and urge them to continue their opposition to a Basin flyover:

Mayor Celia Wade-Brown   celia.wade-brown@wcc.govt.nz

Transport Portfolio Leader Andy Foster    Andy.Foster@wcc.govt.nz

Bryan Pepperell    Bryan.Pepperell@wcc.govt.nz

Helene Ritchie   helene.ritchie@wcc.govt.nz

Iona Pannett   iona.pannett@wcc.govt.nz

Paul Eagle    Paul.Eagle@wcc.govt.nz

Stephanie Cook    stephanie.cook@wcc.govt.nz

Justin Lester     justin.lester@wcc.govt.nz

Join us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. Check out the full details, plus other ideas, on our Get Involved page – and check out our sister site at stoptheflyover.com.

Together, we can stop this stupid, outdated, ugly, and expensive folly from being built.

Advertisements